Which State Does Pondicherry Belong To?

Is Pondicherry a state or city?

Puducherry, also called Pondicherry, city, capital of Puducherry union territory, southeastern India.

The city constitutes an enclave surrounded by Tamil Nadu state, on the Coromandel Coast of the Bay of Bengal, 105 miles (170 km) south of Chennai (Madras)..

Is Pondicherry a dry state?

You get alcohol at low prices in Pondicherry, but that shouldn’t make you drink or smoke in public place. Drinking and smoking at public places including parks, beaches and museums is strictly prohibited. Also, any kind of narcotic substance is illegal in Pondicherry.

What is Pondicherry known for?

Pondicherry is a former French colony located on the south-eastern coastline of India and is known for its rich heritage and culture, along with providing a soothing coastal experience for the tourists. Pondicherry is the only diving spot on the eastern coast of India and attracts a large number of tourists every year.

How many states are there in India in 2020?

28 statesIndia gets new map with 28 states, 9 Union Territories.

Why Puducherry is scattered?

The Treaty of Cession. The Treaty of Cession signed in 1956 is the primary reason why Puducherry and other French settlements are a union territory today and not merged in the states in which they are situated.

How many states are there in Pondicherry?

Puducherry is a Union Territory of India, with four exclaved districts; Puducherry district and Karaikal district (surrounded by the state of Tamil Nadu), Mahé district (surrounded by the state of Kerala) and Yanam district (surrounded by the state of Andhra Pradesh), with Pondicherry district having the largest area …

When did Pondicherry became part of India?

August 16, 1962Fifteen years after India gained independence, this small French colony was liberated on August 16, 1962 when Pondicherry was officially merged with the Indian Union. Thus the union territory celebrates Independence Day on both August 15 and 16.

Why Pondicherry is called Union territory?

India has seven UTs—Delhi, Chandigarh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Puducherry. … Chandigarh, for example, was given UT status because both Haryana and Punjab laid claim to it, and was thus created into a union territory to serve as the capital of both these states.

What are the 9 union territories of India?

Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh and Puducherry.

Who is ruling Puducherry?

Pondicherry is a Union territory currently ruled by the Indian National Congress and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam alliance. The state assembly has 33 seats out of which 30 are elected by the people.

What language is spoken in Pondicherry?

TamilMalayalamTelugu languagePuducherry/Languages

How many Puducherry are there?

There are 4 districts in Puducherry (Pondicherry). Here is the list of Puducherry (Pondicherry) districts.